FORMULA STUDENT

The Formula Student is an international design competition for students. The first Formula Student event took place in 1981 in the United States, featuring only combustion cars. Currently, over 800 university teams take part in 14 worldwide competitions, showcasing their self-designed and self-built combustion, electric, and/or driverless race cars.  


Students are given free hand in creating concepts for their respective race cars. The regulations, published every year, primarily set safety standards for the competing vehicles.  The introductions of the electric category in 2010, and the driverless category in 2016 pushed the students’ innovations to be relevant for the future of transport.


Opposed to other racing series, having the fastest car does not guarantee victory in the Formula Student. Teams are evaluated in eight events; five of which are dynamic and three static. Racing performance, deep understanding of engineering theory and cost-related presentations are the focus of the Formula Student. Presentations are evaluated by a judge panel consisting of experts from motorsport, automotive and logistical industries.

The maximum score of 1000 points achievable in the Formula Student events are tabulated as follows for combustion and electric race cars.

Static Disciplines:

Engineering Design:

Cost Analysis:

Business Presentation:

325 Points

150

100

75

Dynamic Disciplines:

Skid Pad:

Acceleration:

Autocross:

Endurance:

Fuel Economy:

675 Points

75

75

100

325

100

KA-RaceIng’s most important Formula Student event is the Formula Student Germany (FSG), taking place annually at the Hockenheimring racing circuit. Around 3000 students from around the globe come together to compete.

 

Link FSG:                        https://www.formulastudent.de

 

Video FSG 2018:           

©2019 by KA-RaceIng e.V.

FORMULA STUDENT

Die Formula Student ist ein internationaler Konstruktionswettbewerb für Studierende. Ins Leben gerufen wurde die Formula Student 1981 in den USA. Mittlerweile gibt es weltweit 14 Wettbewerbe wobei mehr als 800 Teams mit ihren selbstgebauten Rennwagen gegeneinander antreten. 

 

Die Studierenden haben in der Konzeptionsphase freie Hand – das Reglement bestimmt in erster Linie sicherheitsrelevante Punkte. Anfänglich war die Formula Student rein auf Rennwagen mit Verbrennermotoren ausgerichtet, seit 2010 gibt es auch eine Klasse für rein elektrisch-betriebene Rennwagen und seit 2017 auch die Klasse "Driverless" für autonom fahrende Rennwagen. Die Klassen dienen nicht nur dazu, den Innovationsprozess voranzutreiben, sondern auch die Studierenden auf die Technologien der Zukunft vorzubereiten.

 

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Rennserien geht es in der Formula Student nicht primär um den schnellsten Rennwagen oder den besten Fahrer, sondern um die Gesamtperformance. So müssen sich die Teams in fünf dynamischen und drei statischen Disziplinen beweisen. Dabei spielen die Rennperformance, ein tiefgreifendes Verständnis der Theorie, eine ausführliche Finanzplanung und schlagkräftige Verkaufspräsentation eine wichtige Rolle. Eine erfahrene Jury aus Experten der Motorsport-, Automobil- und Zulieferindustrie bewertet die Umsetzung der Fahrzeugkonzepte, den Finanzplan und die Business Plan Präsentation.

Die maximal zu erreichende Punktzahl von 1.000 setzt sich für die Verbrenner- und Elektrofahrzeuge wie folgt zusammen:

Statische Disziplinen:

Engineering Design:

Cost Analysis:

Business Presentation:

325 Punkte

150

100

75

Dynamische Disziplinen:

Skid Pad:

Acceleration:

Autocross:

Endurance:

Fuel Economy:

675 Punkte

75

75

100

325

100

Das wichtigste Event für KA-RaceIng ist die Formula Student Germany (FSG), die jährlich auf dem Hockenheimring stattfindet. Hier treffen jedes Jahr über 3.000 Studenten aus aller Welt zusammen, um in den verschiedenen Disziplinen gegeneinander anzutreten.

 

Link FSG:                        https://www.formulastudent.de

 

Video FSG 2018:           

©2019 by KA-RaceIng e.V.