Monocoque

In the Subteam Monocoque we develop since 2009 true to the motto "light, lighter, CFRP" all our components are made of fiber-reinforced materials. The in-house production share here corresponds to almost 100% and promises a steep learning curve in the subject of lightweight construction.

 

Concept & Simulation

 

In the early years of our association, we have built a vehicle with a tubular frame, but since 2009, we use a CFRP monocoque. All components are simulated using FEM to ensure an optimal ratio of high stiffness to low mass. In the electric race car we have a monocoque, at the combustion we use a hybrid chassis made of CFRP front module and a steel rear frame to facilitate the maintenance of the engine and to reduce its transmitted vibrations. 

Production & Validation

 

We manufacture all CFRP components in our racing cars in complete self-direction. Highly stressed components and crash structures are subjected to a comprehensive validation process by us in a complex test operation with specially developed test rigs. In 2014, we were able to convince with our concept and know-how and were able to win the "Best Use of Fiber Reinforced Plastics" award from BASF at Formula Student Germany.

 

Components in the past seasons:

  • Ergonomics

  • Frames

  • Front Module C and Rear Frame

  • Front Module E

  • Small Parts

©2019 by KA-RaceIng e.V.

Monocoque

Wir im Subteam Monocoque entwickeln seit 2009 getreu dem Motto „leicht, leichter, CFK“ alle unsere Bauteile aus faserverstärkten Kunststoffen. Der Eigenfertigungsanteil entspricht hier nahezu 100% und verspricht eine steile Lernkurve in der Thematik des Leichtbaus.

 

Konzept & Simulation

 

In den Anfangsjahren unseres Vereins haben wir noch ein Fahrzeug mit einem Gitterrohrrahmen gebaut, doch seit 2009 setzen wir ein CFK‐Monocoque ein. Dabei werden alle Bauteile mittels FEM simuliert, um ein optimales Verhältnis von hoher Steifigkeit zu niedriger Masse gewährleisten. Beim Elektro Rennwagen fahren wir ein Monocoque, beim Verbrenner verwenden wir ein Hybridchassis aus CFK‐Frontmodul und einem Heckrahmen aus Stahl, um die Wartung des Motors zu erleichtern und dessen übertragene Schwingungen zu verringern.  

Fertigung & Validierung

 

Alle CFK‐Bauteile in unseren Rennwagen fertigen wir in kompletter Eigenregie. Hochbelastete Bauteile und Crashstrukturen werden von uns in einem aufwändigen Testbetrieb durch speziell entwickelte Prüfstände einem umfangreichen Validierungsprozess unterzogen. 2014 konnten wir mit unserem Konzept und Know‐How überzeugen und konnten bei der Formula Student Germany den „Best Use of Fiber Reinforced Plastics“‐Award von BASF gewinnen.

 

Bauteile in den vergangenen Saisons​:

  • Ergonomie

  • Felge

  • Frontmodul C und Heckrahmen

  • Frontmodul E

  • Kleinteile

©2019 by KA-RaceIng e.V.